DE / EN

Endowed Chair in Business Administration

Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D.

Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D.

As of July 1st 2018 Prof. Stefan J. Reichelstein is the chairholder of the endowed chair in business administration. He previously studied economics at the University of Bonn and managerial economics at the Northwestern University´s Kellogg School of Management, where he graduated with a Ph.D. in 1984. During the last 30 years he held several positions at international universities such as Berkeley and Stanford. In light of his research accomplishments, he received several honorary doctorates from the University of Mannheim in Germany and the University of Fribourg in Switzerland, as well as an honorary professorship from the University of Vienna. 

At the University of Mannheim, Prof. Reichelstein builds up a newly-endowed research institute. The Mannheim Institute for Sustainable Energy Studies (MISES) addresses economic aspects of the transition to a decarbonized energy economy, with a particular focus on the timeliness and cost effectiveness of this transition.

Field of research

  • Cost-analysis
  • Decentralization
  • Internal pricing
  • Success measurement

Mannheim Institute for Sustainable Energy Studies (MISES)

The Mannheim Institute for Sustainable Energy Studies (MISES) led by Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D. examines the challenges and innovation opportunities that emerge from the transition to a decarbonized energy future. A particular focus of studies conducted by the MISES is the cost associated with alternative decarbonization strategies. The portfolio of projects covers the power, transportation and industrial sectors. The team affilitated with Stefan Reichelstein seeks an ongoing dialogue on these topics with external researchers, practitioners and policymakers. 

Further information on the research focus of the MISES, the team and teaching can be found on the MISES homepage.

DE / EN

Stiftungs­professur für Allgemeine Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre

Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D.

Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D.

Stefan J. Reichelstein hat seit dem 1. Juli 2018 die Stiftungs­professur für Allgemeine Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre an der Universität Mannheim inne. Er studierte Volkswirtschafts­lehre an der Universität Bonn und Managerial Economics an der Kellogg School of Management der Northwestern University, wo er 1984 zum Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) promoviert wurde. In den vergangenen 30 Jahren hatte Reichelstein Professuren an international renommierten Universitäten inne, dar­unter der UC Berkeley und Stanford. 2016/17 war Reichelstein Gastprofessor an der Universität Mannheim. Für seine Forschungs­leistungen wurden ihm die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universitäten Mannheim und Fribourg (Schweiz) und eine Honorarprofessur der Universität Wien verliehen. 

Mit seiner Expertise baut Prof. Reichelstein an der Universität Mannheim das Stiftungs­institut „Mannheim Institute for Sustainable Energy Studies“ (MISES) auf. Das MISES beschäftigt sich vornehmlich mit den privat- und gesamtwirtschaft­lichen Kosten der Energiewende.

Forschungs­schwerpunkte

  • Kosten- und Profitabilitätsanalysen
  • Dezentralisierung
  • interne Preisbildung
  • Erfolgsmessung

Mannheim Institute for Sustainable Energy Studies (MISES)

Das Mannheimer Institut für Sustainable Energy Studies (MISES) unter der Leitung von Prof. Stefan Reichelstein, Ph.D. untersucht die Herausforderungen und Innovations­möglichkeiten, die sich aus dem Wechsel zu einer Energiezukunft ohne Kohle ergeben. Ein besonderer Fokus der Studien des MISES liegt auf den Kosten, die mit alternativen dekarbonisierten Strategien verbunden sind. Das Spektrum an Projekten umfasst den Energie-, Transport- und Industriesektor. In diesen Themen sucht das Team um Stefan Reichelstein den ständigen Austausch mit externen Wissenschaft­lern, Fach­leuten und Politikern.

Weitere Informationen zu den Forschungs­schwerpunkten des MISES, den Mitarbeitern sowie dem Kursangebot von Stefan Reichelstein finden Sie auf der MISES Homepage.