DE / EN

Dr. Jan-Philipp Ahrens

Assistant Professor

Jan-Philipp Ahrens is currently Assistant Professor (Habilitand) of the Area Management and Junior Faculty Member at the Faculty of Business Studies at University of Mannheim. With a focus on sustainability, digitalization and social impact of businesses, he teaches Strategic and International Management, Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management, Family Business Management, and Applied Econometrics at the chair of SME Research and Entrepreneurship.

Short Portrait

Jan-Philipp Ahrens's research appears in international peer-reviewed high level journals, such as Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice (Impact factor: 6.193) or ICIS (VHB: A), he is author of the books “125 Jahre Mittelstand – Freiheit, Markwirtschaft, Soziale Verantwortung” and “Topics in Entrepreneurship and Family Business Management” and supported tech-reports comissioned by German Federal Ministries. His research won more than 10 international peer-reviewed awards, including a “Best Paper Award” at the European Academy of Management in 2013, a “Best Paper Award” at 2014 Family Enterprise Research Conference (USA), an award of the Family Firm Institute (USA / publisher of the Family Business Review), and was selected 2015 and 2019 for the “Best Paper Proceedings” of the Academy of Management (USA). His work on gender equality in CEO leadership was awarded with the WOVEN publish prize 2015. In 2016 and 2019 his research was credited with best article awards at the International Family Business Research Forum (Italy/France), and in 2017 his work on Family CEOs was awarded the “Best Article Award” at the Forum Mittelstandsforschung (Austria). Moreover, his research was nominated for international peer-reviewed awards multiple times.

Jan-Philipp Ahrens is a frequent reviewer for several international top journals, was honored for this service by receiving a best reviewer award, and he supports his profession by co-organizing international conference tracks at European Academy of Management and the Interdisciplinary European Conference on Entrepreneurship Research. He teaches at Bachelor, Master, and PhD level (entrepreneurship and innovation management, strategic and international management, and econometrics), is a frequent speaker in classes for international executive education (family business management, entrepreneurship and innovation management, University of Mannheim, Business School), and has coached more than 20 start-up teams. Jan-Philipp Ahrens’s research is frequently discussed in the public media, such as Deutschlandradio/Deutschlandfunk, Spiegel Online, Der Standard (Austria), PCGames Hardware, Heise online, or Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.

Jan-Philipp Ahrens gained his PhD (Dr. rer. pol.) from the University of Mannheim (2/2010-6/2013). During his dissertation he was a visiting student at the Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität München, following to a visit at the Humboldt University at Berlin in the BDPEMS-Program (Berlin Doctoral Program of Economics and Management Science). From 7/2013-9/2014 he joined the German Federal Ministry of Finance in Berlin as a political advisor in business restructuring. Marathon-Rowing is one of the passions of him. In 2007 he finished 3rd in the quad-scull team discipline of the international Rhine marathon contest and 1st in the eight-team of the Technical University Munich at the 2012 Roseninsel contest.

Jan-Philipp Ahrens's research interests include

  • family business management
  • entrepreneurship and innovation management
  • digital entrepreneurship & crowdfunding
  • sustainability and social impact
  • strategic and international management
  • crisis management & corporate change
  • CEO attributes and behavioral biases
  • gender equality in leadership
  • controlling & value-based management
  • development economics
  • regional and urban development

For further information, it is referred to: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jan-Philipp_Ahrens.

DE / EN

Dr. Jan-Philipp Ahrens

Habilitand (Akademischer Rat)

Jan-Philipp Ahrens ist derzeit Habilitand (Assistant Professor) in der Area Management und ist Junior Faculty Member der Fakultät für Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre an der Universität Mannheim. Am Lehr­stuhl für Mittelstandsforschung und Entrepreneurship unterrichtet er Strategisches Management, Unternehmertum, Familien­unternehmens­führung und angewandte Ökonometrie.

Kurzportrait

Jan-Philipp Ahrens' Forschung erscheint in internationalen hochrangigen Fach­zeitschriften wie z.B. Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice (Impact Factor: 6.193). Er ist Autor der Bücher „125 Jahre Mittelstand - Freiheit, Markwirtschaft, Soziale Verantwortung“ und „Topics in Entrepreneurship and Family Business Management“ und unterstützte Fach­berichte für Ministerien des Bundes. Seine Forschung wurde mit mehr als 10 internationalen peer-reviewed Awards ausgezeichnet, dar­unter ein „Best Paper Award“ an der European Academy of Management im Jahr 2013 und ein „Best Paper Award“ an der 2014 Family Enterprise Research Conference (USA), sowie ein Award des Family Firm Institute (USA/Herausgeber des Family Business Review). 2015 und 2019 wurden seine Ergebnisse für die „Best Paper Proceedings“ der Academy of Management (USA) ausgewählt. Seine Arbeit zur Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern in der Geschäftsführung wurde mit dem WOVEN publish prize 2015 ausgezeichnet. 2016 und 2019 wurden seine Forschungs­arbeiten beim International Family Business Research Forum (Italien/Frankreich) mit dem Best Article Award ausgezeichnet. 2017 wurde seine Forschung zu Familiengeschäftsführern mit dem „Best Article Award“ des Forum Mittelstandsforschung (Österreich) geehrt. Darüber hinaus wurde seine Forschung mehrfach für internationale peer-reviewed Awards nominiert.

Jan-Philipp Ahrens ist Gutachter für mehrere internationale hochrangige Fach­zeitschriften, wurde für diese Arbeit mit einem Best Reviewer Award ausgezeichnet und unterstützt das Forschungs­feld durch die Mit­organisation internationaler Konferenztracks im Rahmen der European Academy of Management und der Interdisciplinary European Conference on Entrepreneurship Research. Er unterrichtet auf Bachelor-, Master- und PhD-niveau (Entrepreneurship, Strategisches Management und angewandte Ökonometrie), hält regelmäßig internationale Kurse für executive education (Family Business Management und Entrepreneurship, Universität Mannheim, Business School) und hat mehr als 20 Start-up Gründerteams gecoached. Die Forschung von Jan-Philipp Ahrens wird in öffentlichen Medien wie Deutschland­radio / Deutschland­funk, Spiegel Online, Der Standard (Österreich), PCGames Hardware, Heise online oder der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung diskutiert.

Jan-Philipp Ahrens promovierte an der Universität Mannheim (2/2010-6/2013). Während seiner Dissertation war er Guest-Researcher an der Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität München, gefolgt von einem Besuch an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin im Rahmen des BDPEMS-Programms. Von 7/2013-9/2014 arbeitete er im Bundes­ministerium der Finanzen in Berlin. Marathon-Rudern ist eine seiner Leidenschaften. 2007 belegte er beim internationalen Rhein-Marathon-Wettbewerb den 3. Platz in der Quad-Scull-Team-Disziplin und beim Roseninsel-Wettbewerb 2012 den 1. Platz im Achterteam der Technischen Universität München. Zu den Forschungs­interessen von Jan-Philipp Ahrens zählen:

  • family business management
  • succession in family firms
  • gender equality in leadership
  • digital entrepreneurship & crowdfunding
  • strategic management
  • turnaround management & corporate change
  • controlling & value-based management
  • corporate finance
  • entrepreneurial economics
  • development economics
  • regional and urban development

Weitere Informationen: www.researchgate.net/profile/Jan-Philipp_Ahrens.