DE / EN

Chair of Business Administration and Accounting

Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof

Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof

Jannis Bischof joined the University of Mannheim as a Professor of Accounting in 2015. His research addresses the role of disclosure and transparency in the financial sector and other settings, the regulation of financial institutions, and managerial discretion in reporting decisions. He is Principal in the TRR (SFB/Transregio) 266 Research Center “Accounting for Transparency” and Research Fellow at the Leibniz Institute für Financial Research (SAFE). He is member of the EFRAG’s Financial Instruments Working Group and has consulted, among others, the European Parliament on IFRS endorsement. He is member of the Editorial Board of several international journals (Accounting and Business Research, Business Research, European Accounting Review, Journal of Business Economics).

Prior to joining Mannheim, Jannis Bischof has been Professor of Finance & Accounting at Goethe University Frankfurt and Visiting Assistant Professor at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. He received his PhD from the University of Mannheim. During his PhD studies, he visited Harvard University and ESSEC Business School.

In Mannheim, Professor Bischof is teaching management and cost accounting for both undergrads and MBAs as well as financial reporting and IFRS regulation in several master’s programs. He is also offering a PhD course on Empirical Accounting Research.

Read more

Learn more about the Chair

Photo credit: Felix Zeiffer
Teaching

An overview on all courses held by Professor Bischof and his team will help you plan your semester. You can also get information about writing a thesis at the Chair.

Photo credit: Felix Zeiffer
Research

Have a look at our publications, conference items and current research projects.

Photo credit: Felix Zeiffer
Team

Our team of researchers will be happy to get in touch with you.

Photo credit: Felix Zeiffer
Job offers

Get more information about entry positions at the Chair or with our partnering firms.

DE / EN

Lehr­stuhl für Allgemeine Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre und Unternehmens­rechnung

Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof

Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof

Jannis Bischof hat seit 2015 den Lehr­stuhl für ABWL und Unternehmens­rechnung an der Universität Mannheim inne. Seine Forschung behandelt die Rolle von Transparenz und Offenlegung im Finanzsektor sowie anderen Bereichen, die Regulierung von Finanzinstitutionen sowie das Managementverhalten in der Unternehmens­berichterstattung. Er ist Projektleiter im von der DFG geförderten SFB/Transregio TRR 266 „Accounting for Transparency“ sowie Research Fellow am Leibniz-Institut für Finanz­markt­forschung SAFE. Er ist Mit-Herausgeber des Journal of Business Economics (JBE/ZfB) für den Bereich Externes Rechnungs­wesen sowie Mitglied des Editorial Boards mehrerer internationaler Zeitschriften (Accounting and Business Research, Business Research, European Accounting Review). Seit 2017 ist er Vorsitzender der Prechel-Stiftung und damit Vorsitzender der Gesellschaft­erversammlung der Mannheim Business School, deren Aufsichtsgremium und Finanz­ausschuss er leitet.

Vor seinem Wechsel nach Mannheim war Jannis Bischof Professor für Finance & Accounting an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt sowie Visiting Assistant Professor an der University of Chicago Booth School of Business. Seine Promotion hat er an der Universität Mannheim abgeschlossen und dort anschließend habilitiert. Während der akademischen Ausbildung hat er für längere Forschungs­aufenthalte die Harvard University (Cambridge, USA) sowie die ESSEC Business School (Paris, Frankreich) besucht.

In Mannheim unterrichtet Professor Bischof Kostenrechnung und Management Accounting im Bachelor-Programm und im MBA sowie Externes Rechnungs­wesen nach HGB und IFRS in verschiedenen Master-Programmen. Er bietet außerdem einen PhD-Kurs zur empirischen Rechnungs­wesenforschung an.

Mehr lesen

Der Lehr­stuhl im Überblick

Foto: Felix Zeiffer
Lehre

Eine Übersicht aller Lehr­veranstaltungen hilft Ihnen, Ihr Semester zu planen. Informieren Sie sich außerdem zu wissenschaft­lichen (Abschluss-) Arbeiten am Lehr­stuhl.

Foto: Felix Zeiffer
Forschung

Verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick über aktuelle Veröffentlichungen, Konferenzbeiträge und Forschungs­projekte des Lehr­stuhls.

Foto: Felix Zeiffer
Team

Unser Lehr­stuhl­team freut sich, mit Ihnen in Kontakt zu treten.

Foto: Felix Zeiffer
Stellenangebote

Informieren Sie sich über Einstiegs­möglichkeiten am Lehr­stuhl oder bei unseren Partner­unternehmen.