The Julius Paul Stiegler Memorial Foundation

The Foundation

In memory of Dr. rer. pol. h.c. Julius Paul Stiegler (1884-1962), the Stiegler Foundation also supports the faculty in its effort to become more internationalized as well as to earn an international reputation. 

The Julius Paul Stiegler Memorial Foundation has supported the faculty of Business Economics (BWL) at University Mannheim for many years, especially by fostering stays abroad of young researchers. Since 2008, the Chair of Prof. Dr. Dirk Simons is responsible for accepting applications and the allocation of funds. 


The Julius Paul Stiegler Memorial Foundation promotes research and study stays of faculty members of the business school abroad.

Funding is available for:

  • Research projects of PhD students or Post-doc researchers abroad,
  • Study stays (no internships!) of excellent students at renowned foreign universities, and
  • International lecture and conference tours by faculty members.

Details regarding prerequisites and form of the support can be found here (in German) and the application form here (in German). Please address your correspondence to Prof. Dr. Dirk Simons and ensure that your application is complete. The support is paid as partial reimbursement of the travel costs.

For further information please contact Mr. Tuna Kurtz (Phone: 0621 181-2634).

Stiegler-Prize for international Students

The University of Mannheim Business School is glad to award the Prize of the Julius Paul Stiegler Memorial Foundation. The prize will be awarded at the graduation ceremony by a representative of the Julius Paul Stiegler Memorial Foundation. It is awarded to international full-time students of the bachelor program who have distinguished themselves during their studies through their outstanding intercultural competence. 

The University of Mannheim Business School invites the top-ranked bachelor students of the graduating class to apply for the prize. Unsolicited applications are not considered. 


We congratulate Mr. Connal Walker-Jones and Ms. Zhenming Zhang for receiving the award in 2023. Former prize winners are Ms. Tianya Zhang (2015), Ms. Chaoping Ma (2016), Mr. Jakub Krejci (2017), Ms. Fanni Luca Szente (2018), Ms. Maryna Ivantseva (2019), Ms. Daria Nazarova (2020), Mr. Arsenii Vesnovskyi (2021), and Ms. Zeba Cyrus Vevaina (2022). We wish them all the best for their future careers.